Sort: This is reset to Time when the radio is turned off. This was true in the original radio and is still true in the 1.2 version. It is noted in the APRS manual for this feature.
Filter: This is reset to All when the radio is turned off. This was a part of the original radio. The 1.2 radio saves this setting. When the customer presses Sort, the messages will be re-sorted based on this filter. (Again, as described in the APRS manual for the 1.2 version in the section on this feature.)